The Director

Jeremy Strick, Director

Jeremy Strick has been the director of the Nasher Sculpture Center since 2009, overseeing collections, exhibitions, and operations at the museum of modern and contemporary sculpture located in the heart of downtown Dallas’ Arts District. As director, Strick has organized ambitious exhibitions of sculpture, launched innovative new programming initiatives and, in 2015, created the Nasher Prize, an international juried award dedicated exclusively to contemporary sculpture. The inaugural Nasher Prize Laureate was Colombian artist Doris Salcedo, French artist, Pierre Huyghe, received it in 2017, and American artist Theaster Gates was the 2018 Laureate. 


Mr. Strick has been instrumental in conceiving and implementing major new programming and initiatives for the museum. In celebration of its 10th anniversary in 2013, Mr. Strick organized Nasher XChange, commissioning 10 artists, including Ugo Rondinone, Rick Lowe, Alfredo Jaar, and Lara Almarcegui, to create works that were installed in public spaces throughout Dallas. Nasher XChange extended the museum’s core mission beyond its walls and into the surrounding community, presenting key advances in the rapidly expanding field of sculpture in the public realm, and contributing to broader national and international conversations on sculpture in the public sphere.


Mr. Strick introduced contemporary art programs to the Nasher, which under his direction organized major exhibitions of such major figures as Jaume Plensa, Tony Cragg, Ernesto Neto, Katarina Grosse, Thomas Heatherwick, Melvin Edwards, Phyllida Barlow, Giuseppe Penone, and Ann Veronica Janssens. In 2010, Mr. Strick launched Sightings, a series of small-scale exhibitions and installations that explore new work by established and emerging sculptors. The series has featured such artists as Mai-Thu Perret, Eva Rothschild, Alyson Shotz, Diana Al-Hadid, Erick Swenson, Martin Creed, Nathan Mabry, Bettina Pousttchi, and Anna-Bella Papp. Mr. Strick also created 360: Artists, Critics, Curators, a monthly lecture series featuring art world visionaries engaged in conversations on contemporary issues pertinent to the field of sculpture. Past speakers have included Anthony Gormley, Sir Nicholas Serota, Nick Cave, Aaron Curry, Trenton Doyle Hancock, Linda Ridgeway, Thomas Houseago, Arlene Shechet, Kiki Smith, and Laurence Weiner, among others. In addition, in 2010, Mr. Strick launched the highly acclaimed program Soundings:New Music at the Nasher, which has been hailed by Dallas critics as the city’s most exciting and intelligent musical programming in 40 years. The series has featured artists such as Midori, Gilbert Kalish, Tin Hat, Eduardo Leandro, David Krakauer, and composer Stephen Mackey. 


Prior to becoming Director of the Nasher, Mr. Strick served as Director of The Museum of Contemporary Art (MOCA) in Los Angeles, California for more than nine years. Throughout his tenure, MOCA received international acclaim for its exhibition program, which included such landmark shows as Martin Kippenberger: The Problem Perspective(2008); Marlene Dumas: Measuring Your Own Grave (2008); ©.MURAKAMI(2007); WACK! Art and the Feminist Revolution (2007); Ecstasy: In And About Altered States (2005); Basquiat (2005); Visual Music: Synaesthesia in Art and Music Since 1900 (2005); Robert Smithson (2004);Andy Warhol Retrospective (2002); Willem De Kooning: andTracing the Figure (2002), among many others. Further accomplishments included the opening of MOCA Pacific Design Center, a 3,000-square-foot satellite gallery, the significant expansion of the museum’s permanent collection, and expansion of the museum’s membership by over 80 percent. 

Mr. Strick also previously served as a senior curator at the Art Institute of Chicago, and held curatorial posts at The Saint Louis Art Museum and the National Gallery of Art, Washington, D.C. He pursued graduate studies in Fine Arts at Harvard University and received his Bachelor of Arts (History of Art) in 1977 from the University of California at Santa Cruz. (MOCA, 2005).


Nasher Sculpture Center Board of Trustees

Mr. David Haemisegger, President
Mr. Stephen Stamas, Chairman
Mr. Elliot Cattarulla
Ms. Nancy Nasher Haemisegger
Mr. John G. Heimann
Dr. Steven A. Nash
Ms. Andrea Nasher